My Shameless Plug for Snail Mail!

Happy Saturday everyone!

The short version of this blog post: Read the title, send mail to my address below, and I will write you back. (But you can read the rest of this post to get a reminder of how much I care about you and want to stay connected with you during my year!)

My address:

Emily Kimball

3 Credenhill House

Ledbury Street

London

SE15 1BG

England

 

 

The longer version:

Because I live in an exciting and excitable neighborhood, I was awoken at 5 AM to the sound of people shouting at one another drifting through my window. It’s things like this that remind me that I’m still acclimating to city life – my neighbors who aren’t surprised in the least by sporadic screaming slept right through it. 😉

I, on the other hand, was jolted awake and have been up and doing things since 5 AM.

My primary activity of the morning has been letter writing, which is a little different for me. I will be the first to tell you that I am awful at getting birthday cards, thank you notes, holiday greetings, and invitations of any sort sent to anyone. However, receiving a beautiful, handwritten letter and postcard from dear friends in Fargo, ND and Gien, France (respectively) MADE MY WEEK. As a really kinetic and physically affectionate being, it’s been a challenge for me to nurture my relationships when we’re spread so far apart and I can’t simply pat you on the shoulder or give you a hug.

I would like to take this time to say a big THANK YOU to all of you who have been sending me your love and support through email, Facebook messages, notes, packages, skype, the rare international phone call, prayer and positive thoughts! I really couldn’t be healthy and happy here in London if I didn’t have all of you looking out for me. 🙂

So I spent my morning writing letters back to my friends in Fargo and Gien, writing a letter back to my Mom and Nolan to thank them for the package I got from them today, and three of my fellow YAGM volunteers whose addresses I was able to find via blogs and Facebook. You should have seen me at the post office this morning. “Good morning!…Yes, I have six letters to send internationally…I’m not really sure how much they weigh or what kind of stamps I need…ummm yeah, only one is going somewhere else in Europe. France, actually…and then I have two going to the United States, one to South Africa, one to Israel, and one to Malaysia…and can I buy 15 international postcard stamps please?”

Image

This is a picture of the mail I have received, plus a lovely “Good Morning!” note from one of my flat mates, a welcoming postcard from the Time for God staff supporting me here, a quote from a church bulletin a few weeks ago, and some contact information of loved ones (because it seemed to fit the theme here.) See all that blank space around the little cluster of love in the middle? That is space that can be filled with anything you want to send me!

Some ideas of things you can send – letters, cards, drawings, photos, newspaper clippings, recipes, quotes, doodles, your bills or homework (just kidding!), postcards, song lyrics, poems, paper mementos that show what adventures you’ve been up to, coloring pages (that you have colored or left blank for me to color,) or whatever strikes your fancy!

If you’re interested, you can send mail to the address I gave at the beginning of this post, AND I PROMISE I WILL WRITE YOU BACK. It’ll be like hugging, but with paper instead of arms.

Cheers,

Emily 🙂

Leave a Reply

